A great firm requires clear vision and strong leadership. Vision gives a company its reason for being, its core values and defines its passions. Leadership provides a company with inspiration and energy, and nurtures its talent.

Senior Principals

Michael E. Hickok, FAIA, founded the company 30 years ago and has guided the firm through its continuous growth and transformation. His extensive design experience and thoughtful management style provides continuity for the firm and is the firm’s foundation.

Yolanda Cole, FAIA, IIDA, LEED AP, merged her company with Hickok’s firm in 2003. She brings over 30 years of base building and interior design experience ranging from large-scale, international mixed-use projects to small specialty projects in the DC region. Her enthusiasm and spark are catalysts for action which drives the firm toward its goals.


John J. Bisch, CFO, COO
Laurence Caudle, AIA, Director of Housing
Robert L. Holzbach, AIA, LEED AP, Director of Staff Operations

Associate Principals

B. Devon Perkins, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
David Wahl, AIA, Director of Project Operations
Elba J. Morales, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP
Jason Wright, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Jessica C. Zullo, Director of RVA Studio
Mark Ramirez, Assoc. AIA, Director of Corporate Office
Rhea Vaflor, IIDA, LEED AP ID+C, Director of Lifestyle
Sarah Barr, Creative Director

Senior Associates

Amy Shavelson, IIDA, LEED AP ID+C
Bertin L. Radifera, AIA
Bryan Chun, AIA, LEED AP
Gregory Woodruff, AIA
Guilherme A.M. Almeida, AIA, LEED Green Assoc.
Holly Lennihan, RA, LEED AP
Jason Ovalle, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP
Jeffrey A. Lockwood, AIA, NCARB
Matthew C. Rohr, RA, CSI, CDT, LEED AP
Melissa Brewer, IIDA
Ryan Sloan, Director of Construction Administration
Sophia Lau, AIA
Starr Ashcraft, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Stefano Sani, LEED AP BD+C
Tais Xavier, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Tammy Lippman, Assoc. IIDA
Thomas Corrado, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP


Abigail R. Brown, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Carlyn Cullen, AIA
Erin McNamara, LEED AP
Fanny M. González, Assoc. AIA
Jamie Mitchell, Art Director
John Lang, AIA
Johanna Lofstrom, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Kerron Miller, RA
Laura Ewan, Director of Marketing and Communications
Laura Roth, Director of Business Development
Lucia Tang, Assoc. AIA
Peter McCarthy
Rosa Zlotkovsky, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Siobhan Steen, AIA
Todd D. Martin
Toma Vailikit, Director of Information Technology
Quy Nguyen